Celebrating Colorado’s Life Sciences Ecosystem

The annual CBSA awards celebration highlights the spirit and drive of Colorado’s vibrant life sciences ecosystem. It brings together hundreds of leaders and innovators to applaud our successes and look ahead to the coming year.

Learn more about the upcoming 19th Annual Awards Celebration on November 16, 2022.

AGC Biologics accepting Chairman’s Award from past CBSA Board Chair Bob Reddy and current CBSA Board Chair Kiki Traylor, M.D., at the 18th Annual Awards Celebration.

18th Annual Awards Celebration: Innovation Forward

Throughout the pandemic, our ecosystem continued to grow and thrive. On October 12, 2021, we celebrated the memorable milestones and incredible people behind Colorado’s health innovations at Innovation Forward: Forum + Awards Celebration, a combination of our two popular fall events. Congratulations to all the award recipients this year!

2021 Award Winners

Company of the Year: LightDeck Diagnostics
LightDeck Diagnostics is reimaging diagnostic technology by developing simple, fast, laboratory-quality testing almost anywhere. Finalists for the award included Proov and OnKure.

Rising Star of the Year: Artisan Bio
Artisan Bio is engineering the next generation of immune cell therapy to produce positive outcomes in patients. Finalists were: Enveda Biosciences and Foresight Diagnostics.

Additional honorees included:

Educator of the Year
Scott Troy of Westminster High School introduces subjects including innovations to assist dementia patients, forensic science, CRISPR-Cas 9 genetic editing, and the medical impacts of air quality.

Business Partner of the Year
BIO is the world’s largest advocacy association representing member companies, state biotechnology groups, academic and research institutions, and related organizations across the United States and in 30+ countries. The organization supports CBSA through Policy + Advocacy leadership, business savings programs, and the Coalition of State Bioscience Associations.

Legislators of the Year
Senator Chris Hansen, Senate District 31 (Arapahoe and Denver), Senator Jim Smallwood, Senate District 4 (Douglas County), Representative Shannon Bird, House District 35 (Adams County), and House Minority Leader Representative Hugh McKean, House District 51 (Larimer County) champion issues critical to life sciences at the State Capitol.

Deal of the Year
Edgewise Therapeutics, a Boulder-based clinical-stage company is developing transformative therapies for serious musculoskeletal diseases, raised $202 million in an initial public offering in March of 2021.

Institute Leadership Award
Joanne (Jo) Rupprecht, Interim Director of Research Integrity and Compliance Office and Manager of Regulatory Affairs at CSU also serves as an adjunct professor for Biomedical Entrepreneurship at the University of Colorado Medical Campus. She collaborates with the Institute to cultivate the future life sciences workforce.

Impact Award
Katie Woslager partnered with CBSA to advance the life sciences ecosystem and provide funding opportunities for Colorado’s Advanced Industries in her previous role at the Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade (OEDIT).

Chairman’s Award
AGC Biologics, a global Contract Development and Manufacturing Organization (CDMO), has invested in Colorado with major facilities in Boulder and Longmont.